You love like you’ve never loved before

Now, my baby is a toddler even though he’s still my baby. Everyday I hold his head close to my nose and take a deep breadth, wanting to inhale all of him. Needless to say, that delicate baby scent is gone, only to be substituted by whatever crumbs left behind from his last meal.


10 Things I Learned in My First Year as a Mum


I’m glad I’ve taken photos of most milestones he’s reached and written about our journey together. It’s nice to have something to look back to in the future and see how we’ve grown. Here are 10 things I learned in my first year with Theodore:

1. Google is NOT your paediatrician. Don’t we all rely on the Internet to give us answers? Chances are it will tell you that your baby has got a serious disease and needs A&E treatment immediately. No! Take whatever Google (or mummy forums) says with a pinch of salt. When in doubt, seek professional help.

2. Life with a baby is a roller coaster. I’ll tell you that a newborn is EASY to look after now but believe me, it was SO DIFFICULT back then for me. Each stage has its own challenges. It gets tougher, easier, then tougher and then easier.

3. You love like you’ve never loved before. That little life you’ve brought to this world WILL BE your everything.

4. Sometimes you do wonder what your life would be like without a baby. You’ll imagine it to be glorious. There’s no need to feel guilty about it.

5. It’s perfectly acceptable to ASK your husband to take over while you take a long, hot bath to unwind. You deserve it.

6. You’ll want to buy all the toys in the world for your little one but really, he doesn’t need ALL of them. Babies love repetition and familiar objects.

7. 5 minutes of Peppa Pig on the iPad while you pop into the loo isn’t going to kill your baby.

8. Put the baby down in the room and all he wants to grab are the wires, bookshelves and anything not baby-friendly. 

9. You’ll get into an argument with your husband on who’s more tired when in actual fact, you’re both equally exhausted (hence the argument).

10. You don’t get annoyed at babies crying in public anymore. You’ll look the other parents in their eyes, and give them a sympathetic smile as if to say “I understand. It’s going to be alright”.


source
Please let us know anything at all... but we do not like spam!

